Major events in the history of Telangana

Major events in the history of Telangana

The major events within the history of Telangana the twenty ninth state in Asian nation, since 1948:

1948: Indian Army annexes princely state of Hyderabad, that comprised completely different regions as well as Telangana.

1950: Telangana became Hyderabad State.

1952: 1st elections command in Hyderabad State.

Nov 1, 1956: Telangana integrated with Andhra State, that was graven out of Madras State, to make state, a united state for Telugu-speaking individuals.

1969: ‘Jai Telangana’ movement for separate statehood to Telangana began. Over three hundred individualskilled in police firing.

1972: ‘Jai Andhra’ movement began in coastal Andhra for separate Andhra State.

1975: Presidential order issued to implement Six purpose Formula, providing some safeguards to Telangana.

1997: BJP supported demand for Telangana state; in 1998 election, it secure ‘one vote 2 states’.

2001: K Chandrasekhara Rao floated Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to revive Telangana movement.

2004: TRS fought elections in alliance with Congress, wins 5 Lok Sabha and twenty six assembly seats. UPA includes Telangana issue in common minimum programme.

2008: TDP declared support for Telangana demand.

2009: TRS contested elections in alliance with TDP however its tally weakened to 2 Lok Sabha and tenassembly seats.

Sep 2009: Chief minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy died in whirlybird crash, triggering political uncertainty.

Oct 2009: Chandrasekhara Rao began fast-unto-death for Telangana state.

Dec 9: Centre declared call to initiate the method for formation of Telangana state.

Dec 23: Following protests in Rayalaseema and Andhra regions (Seemandhra) and linear unit mass resignations of MPs and state legislators, centre place the method on hold citing would like for agreement.

Feb 3, 2010: Centre found out five-member Srikrishna committee to seem into Telangana issue.

Dec 2010: Srikrishna committee submitted its report, advised six choices

July 30, 2013: UPA coordination panel and Congress operating Committee determined to carve out Telangana state. Protests in Seemandhra.

Oct 3, 2013: Union cupboard approved the proposal to divide state. a gaggle of Ministers (GoM) was ingrained to organize the roadmap when consultations with all stakeholders.

Oct 25, 2013: Chief minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy raised banner of revolt against Congress leadership. He wrote letters to president and prime minister urging them to prevent bifurcation method.

Dec 5, 2013: Union cupboard approved draft state organisation Bill 2013 ready on the idea of recommendations by the GoM. Bill sent to President Pranab Mukherjee with letter of invitation to create a respect to state assembly to get its views underneath Article three of the Constitution.

Dec 9: The President gave time until Jan twenty three to the state assembly to offer its views.

Dec 12, 2013: Bill dropped at Hyderabad in an exceedingly special craft and amid tight security.

Dec 16, 2013: Bill introduced in each homes of state assembly amid clashes between Seemandhra and Telangana lawmakers.

Jan 8, 2014: when disruptions for many days, discussion finally began on the bill in assembly and council.

Jan 21, 2014: government wanted four a lot of weeks to discussion the bill. The President gave one week.

Jan 27, 2014: Chief minister Kiran Kumar Reddy gave notice to assembly speaker for a resolution to reject the bill.

Jan 30, 2014: Amid disturbance, each homes of state assembly glided by a voice vote official resolutions, rejecting the bill and appealing to the President to not send the bill to parliament.

Feb 5, 2014: Chief minister staged civil disobedience in city to oppose bifurcation.

Feb 7, 2014: Union cupboard cleared the bill and rejected Seemandhra leaders’ demand to createHyderabad a union territory. Bill sent to the President for his approval to table it in parliament.

Feb 11, 2014: Congress expelled six MPs from Seemandhra for moving no-confidence motion against government.

Feb 13, 2014: Bill introduced in Lok Sabha amid clashes between MPs from Seemandhra and Telangana. L Rajagopal, a MP from Seemandhra, used aerosol bomb within the house. Speaker suspended sixteen MPs as well as Rajagopal for remainder of the session.

Feb 18, 2014: Lok Sabha passes Telangana bill.

Feb 19, 2014: Kiran Reddy resigns because the chief minister to protest bifurcation.

Feb 20, 2014: Rajya Sabha passes bill. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh announces package for Seemandhra.

March 1, 2014: President Pranab Mukherjee provides his assent to Telangana bill. President’s rule obligatorywithin the state.

April 30, 2014: coinciding elections command to 119-member Telangana assembly and seventeen Lok Sabha seats.

May 16, 2014: TRS stormed to power by winning sixty three seats within the assembly and additionallybagged eleven Lok Sabha seats.

June 2, 2014: Telangana is born because the new state. Chandrasekhara Rao takes oath because the 1stChief Minister.

2 thoughts on “Major events in the history of Telangana

  1. Pingback: Tirupati Balaji Temple | TTD Online Booking | TTD Login

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *